Commitment to Consultation and Engagement with Māori, particularly Mana Whenua

Council welcomes and encourages Māori contribution to its decision-making processes. In doing so, it has special regard to the views of mana whenua of the Westland District; that is, with Poutini Ngāi Tahu (Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio and Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Waewae).

At the 26 July 2018 Ordinary Council Meeting, an invitation was extended to the Chairs of Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Waewae and Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio to attend and participate in Council Meetings and the Business of Council, in acknowledgement of, and to further strengthen, Council's partnership with Mana Whenua of Westland. The Chairs of Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Waewae and Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio are full members of Council Committees and participate without voting rights in Council Meetings.

On the 22 November 2018, Council approved the Manatu Whakaaetanga Partnership Agreement with Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Waewae and Te Rūnanga O Makaawhio. The agreement was signed by Mayor Bruce Smith on behalf of Council and Francois Tumahai on behalf of Te Rūnanga O Ngāti Waewae on 22 August 2019, and by Paul Madgwick on behalf of Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio on 28 May 2020.

We will strive to both welcome and actively seek Poutini Ngāi Tahu involvement in our consultation processes. Council is committed to maintaining communication and its good working relationship with Poutini Ngāi Tahu, so that the relationship remains fluid and evolves in accordance with these organisations' preferences.

The Resource Management Act 1991

Council currently has an ongoing commitment to consultation with respect to all of its planning processes, including those under the Resource Management Act and its community planning. It is important to the Council that its processes of consultation are appropriate to the needs of mana whenua in the Westland District. The consultation carried out under the Resource Management Act recognises the specific interests within the Westland District area of Poutini Ngāi Tahu: Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio; Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Waewae. In respect of the Resource Management Act, Council also gives regard to the Statutory Acknowledgements in accordance with the Ngāi Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1988. Council recognises the role and importance of the Makaawhio Marae, Te Tauraka Waka a Māui, at Mahitahi/Bruce Bay, and the Ngāti Waewae Marae, at Arahura.

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Waewae:

Arahura Marae

Postal Address: PO Box 37, Hokitika. Phone: 03 755 6451 and 03 755 6452 Email: admin@ngatiwaewae.org.nz

Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio:

Makaawhio (Bruce Bay) Marae Postal address: PO Box 225, 56 Brittan Street, Hokitika

Phone: 03 755 7885

Email: <u>lynda.pehi@ngaitahu.iwi.nz</u> or kara.edwards@ngaitahu.iwi.nz